RSS

American Idol Live Tour 2010 Toronto Review

22 Sep

The idols top 11 just got back from Manilla. It’s over for another year. A bit late for a review, but…

So you know, my music preferences lean to country and blues, but I also own CDs of many other genres including Elvis, Dean Martin, Chopin piano concertos and so forth.

I started watching AI in the second year because my husband had seen it and got intrigued by Reuben. We bought CDs from both Reuben and Clay. After that, we watched at least the majority of top ten shows, but I can’t really say we were avid fans or that we really cared who won. The only other idol’s CD I’ve bought was Kris Allen’s, and I really like it. Last year I didn’t watch much, although I did think Crystal should have won. But the negative and often ridiculous judging was just too annoying. It had become a downer.

This year, I was kind of bored the day auditions started playing, and curious to see how the judging had changed, so I watched. And then I made a point of watching the second one, etc I was immediately hooked by a few of the singers: Jacob, Casey, and Scotty. Chris Medina’s story. And so forth. I ended up watching every single show and reading stuff on the internet, watching you tube videos, connecting with iTunes so I could buy songs, and getting tickets to the tour the day they went on sale.

So, on with the recap, which I apparently wrote in present tense without realizing it.

My husband and I drive in from just outside Toronto and park at our youngest son’s condo downtown. He’s away this weekend, so he said we could use his place. At 5:00, we head out to walk to the ACC. We have to pick up our tickets since for some reason they never arrived in the mail. We also stop at the Roger’s Centre to pick up tickets to Sunday’s baseball game. Unfortunately, after walking for an hour through the downtown streets, we’re hot and sweaty. It’ only in the low 70s (23), but feels more like mid-80s (30).

We pick up the tickets at about 6:05 and wander into Union Station. There had been some people beginning to gather at the outside doors, but not that many. Inside, however, there’s a long, long line of people anxious to get to their seats. Or maybe to buy the $25 programs or the other items for sale.

We go into Union Station to find washrooms and food. I find a long lineup at mine (naturally) and when I come out, my husband is nowhere to be found. My biggest concern is that he has both tickets! Eventually he turns up with a Jugo Juice southwestern chicken on a spinach wrap. All is forgiven. We go outside and he takes off again, this time to get a huge, spicy Italian sausage in a bun from one of the outdoor vendors. Before he takes off, I get my ticket from him. Just in case.

At 6:35, we go inside. The lineups have dissipated and it’s easy to get in. I find a washroom again (with the requisite line-up), and then find my seat on the right hand side of the stage. My husband is getting an orange juice for me and a soft drink of some sort for himself. He eventually shows up.

Videos are playing, but they’re fairly soft and not in your face. I notice Kris Allen’s, Carrie’s and David Cook’s. I ignore all the commercials. A number of them seem to be for perfume, which I have no interest in—especially since several of my friends are allergic to scents of all kinds.

The place isn’t full, but people are still coming in. I’m trying to analyze the crowd. I see males and females of all ages from about 6 to well into their 80s. More women than men, but not ridiculously so. Maybe 2-1 female. Perhaps slightly more to the female side. Not sure if it would be 3-1 though. More males than I expected, and also, just as the females, all ages.

One interesting thing is that the vast majority are Caucasian. That surprises me. Toronto has been called the most ethnically diverse city in the world, and I’m used to a mix of people from the Black and Asian communities. But the bulk of the crowd I see here is Caucasian.

Clothing varies from glitzy glam (mostly women) to shorts and Jose Bautista #19 T-shirts (mostly young men and boys). And, of course, some Idol T-shirts on a variety of people.

At 7:15 people are still coming in and the place is filling up. Not sure how many it holds, but this is the home of the Maple Leafs and Raptors, so it must be quite a few. The only areas that look at all empty are on the very top of the far end. Otherwise, it’s pretty close to full.

A set of strong lights on the stage flash and suddenly we’re ready. The idols are talking in a video about three of the Ford videos, and people are texting the name of their favourite to win a meet and greet pass. My husband hands me his phone. I just look at him. I don’t text. Sorry. Hate trying to type on those itty bitty screens. Zombies easily gets the most applause.

Okay, another surprise is about to happen. The names and pictures of the 2011 idols appear, beginning with Naima and polite applause. Thia—still polite applause. Pia. Much stronger applause. And it keeps building. Paul is almost as strong as Pia. Less for Stefano. More for Casey. Toronto loves Casey. Jacob. Not as much as Casey but we do like him too. We like James, too. Haley – wow! Who knew? Toronto absolutely adores Haley! We like Lauren, too, but not as much as Haley or Casey. And then—oh boy. I honestly didn’t think the fans could get any louder, but somehow they took it to another level for Scotty. Canada loves all the idols, some more than others, but Scotty most of all.

This is one enthusiastic, happy crowd! Bring it on!

“Born This Way.” The girls look and sound good. Lauren’s white dress and boots look good. The skirt is more A-line than what she often wears. Everyone sounds good even though I can only make out some of the words. Did I mention words are kind of important to me? I look for both great words and great music, so I like to at least be able to make out what the words are. “Born This Way” is a mix. I can make out some parts but not others. But it looks and sounds good.

Lauren does a quick greeting at mentions that Haley’s family is here and that it’s her 21st birthday today. My preference for the second song would be to have the guys sing, but no, the momentum is gone as Pia sings “Empire State of Mind.” What, is whoever decided on that song choice nuts? Who would put a song about New York at the beginning of a tour going across the US and into Canada? All right, I knew it was coming, but my husband didn’t and he’s confused. It’s simply a dumb song choice. We aren’t all that into New York (just as many other Canadians aren’t all that into Toronto). Pia sings the song well, as in she seems to hit the notes and what not, but I really can’t make out most of the words. It’s a very blah moment. But Canadians are polite and she gets some nice applause.

“California King Bed” goes over much better. And I can make out some of the words, which helps. And Stefano helps. On Idol, if I’d been able to pick the order they finished, I’d have had Paul at 11, Stefano 10, Pia 9, Thea 8, then maybe Niema 7. But this is not the same Stefano I saw on the show. This Stefano really seems to be bringing it, matching Pia note for note and even overshadowing her.

The problem is that while they seem to be singing to each other, it doesn’t so much come across that way. As my husband says later, “They’re standing three feet apart singing about being ten thousand miles apart and you felt they really were ten thousand miles apart.” They’re each killing the song, but they aren’t singing it to each other. But it goes over really well. And they get a lot of heartfelt applause.

And then Paul arrives. I don’t know what to say about Paul. I never got him on the show. Not sure if that wasn’t because TPTB never let him be himself and sing what he wanted to sing. Yes, he has something and can entertain, but honestly, what he reminded me of last night was Falstaff in a Shakespearian play. A short comedic interlude. Because that’s what he did. Asked us to stand, which, being polite Canadians, many people in the main (ice level) section did. And a few on the lower sides. And he sang and danced around and people enjoyed it.

And let me pause here to talk about standing up. Just for a second. I have thoughts on it. Don’t tell me to stand up, clap, cheer, etc. I will do it all by myself IF I WANT TO. To me, standing because someone tells me to stand is pretty well meaningless. What I look for is the person who gets the standing ovation at the end of the song or the respect at the beginning without a word. If you tell me to stand and I stand, that just says I’m polite and didn’t want to hurt your feelings by ignoring your request. It does not way I’m having a wonderful time. Plus not everyone can stand. I’m very sensitive to that. Not just older people, either. Standing or not standing has absolutely nothing to do with your enjoyment of the show.

Again, I can make out some of the words Paul is singing, and he’s entertaining, but I feel pretty certain I don’t have a clue who he is or what he’d like to be singing. But I hope that Paul and all the other Idols from 2010 will go on to make great music and do well. There’s none of them that I dislike.

Thia comes on and people sit down—not out of disrespect but because they were only standing because Paul asked them to. Plus Thia’s song is slower and has a much different vibe. A “listen to this” vibe. The crowd seems to enjoy Thia and I see there are several little girls (ages 6-10?) in front of me standing and singing along and swaying to the song.

“Tightrope” is flashy and a bit hard to watch, especially because of the weird stuff in the background. Plus I can’t make out many of the words. But it sounds good. Especially Haley and Naima. Did I mention that Haley gets cheered petty well whenever she appears or gets a solo?

Somehow Stefano and a keyboard have arrived on the upper level while we were watching the girls. Stefano is in white and he’s singing “Grenade.” And for the first time tonight, I can actually make out nearly all of the words of a song. Plus he’s putting everything into it. People stand, by choice. As he goes into “DJs Falling in Love,” it’s obvious that the crowd likes Stefano. His singing is much better than I remember it from the show. He’s working the stage and the crowd.

Okay, now he goes off-track lifting his shirt. And then there’s lots of screaming when he takes off his shirt. For me, the shirt-thing changed the dynamics from “this guy can really sing in a powerful way” to “What kind of singer does want to be?” Sorry. Just didn’t get the need for the shirt thing here—especially with so many kids in the audience. But more than that, it took away from his being remembered for his singing. Seriously. Do you want to be remembered for your singing or the shirt thing?

At last, we get the rest of the guys minus Scotty. And they do a good job of “Animal”, although I’m back to only making out a few of the words. But it looks and sounds good. And they are entertaining. James and Casey get the most applause when they appear for the first time, but Jacob gets some too. And the crowd loves the song.

Naima time. Okay, so I quite liked her on the show. She was different, bright, and entertaining. And she really does “On the Floor” well. For me, JLo’s version was completely forgettable. When Naima does it, I actually like the song. I’d have loved for her (and Paul and Thia) to have had two songs—or at least one song and a duet. And for Pia to have had one less (“Empire State of Mind” be gone!) to make some room. Anyway, I wasn’t the only one who enjoyed Naima – I got the feeling the crowd didn’t quite know what to expect from her, but was very pleasantly surprised. Definitely some standing here.

Back to Pia and This Time. She actually gets more applause than I might have expected. And having the video behind her isn’t bad, but neither is it great. The problem is I find myself watching to see if she and the video are in sinc. ? As for the singing itself, she does much better here. Moves around the stage. The jeans work way, way better than the tight dress, but she’s still in what appear to be 4-inch heels, which make moving difficult.

Okay, time for another rant. I know women wear 4-inch spike heels. I get that. But that doesn’t make it right. Or sensible. And frankly, it looks very dumb on stage to have guys jumping around in T-shirts and jeans and leather jackets while the girls are teetering awkwardly in very short, very tight skirts and 4-inch heels. Heels and tight short skirts are fine for some moments, when it’s about putting across a certain appearance. But when you’re going for movement and wanting to work the crowd, lower heels and jeans or something else easy to move in (see Naima) works really well! Appearance isn’t the most important thing. Thia needed a more teen-friendly outfit, too. If it was a beauty pageant and she was walking on stage, fine. But the girl needs to be able to move so she can really sell her song! So please, get rid of the 4-inch heels for all females unless they fit the song and the need!

Back to Pia. She has a remarkable voice, but, as my husband says, she seems a bit too self-conscious. Not able to just let loose and enjoy herself. However, “This Time” seems to go over well. People clap enthusiastically. I expect she’ll continue to grow and learn.

And then it’s Casey time and you can feel the love. Okay, a lot of it is coming from my husband—Casey is his favourite. But seriously, Toronto loves Casey. And he doesn’t disappoint. What does disappoint me is the group of people who arrive late and block my view for part of the opening of his first song. They don’t just arrive late; they stand in the aisle talking and trying to figure out how to get to their seats for way too long. Finally they get into their row, three down from ours, and once everyone is settled, I can see Casey again without having to jump around and peer over heads.

All I can say is I’d pay to go see Casey and so would my husband (and he doesn’t put out his money readily). I already have all his songs from iTunes—well, except the Nirvana one—never quite got that one. And when Casey sings with Haley—wow! Can they tour together? Please? Pretty please?

Some people are standing for “Smooth” Casey and then “Moanin’.” Not everyone, but many, and it’s spontaneous. They love him and he’s very entertaining. You just know he loves what he’s doing and he’s enjoying the time as much as the crowd is. Perfect.

And then after “Moanin,’” Casey keeps his arm around Haley so she can’t leave, and others from the cast trickle out as the crowd sings happy birthday to her. So glad they did that.

And then the others left and Casey sat down and sang “Harder to Breath” and the crowd was totally into it too. Cheers and applause and some people standing.

And then we’re into “Forget You” and I was surprised by fact that loads of people jumped up for this. Again, James got some strong cheers. We haven’t seen much of him yet. Also Jacob. And Haley, of course. And then Casey’s back, taking over the lead. And it’s very cool and the crowd loves everyone.

Oh, yeah. Paul, Stefano, and James are wearing what appear to be large, I assume straw, cowboy hats with white maple leaves. They look funny but it’s a nice touch.

While hordes of people start leaving for intermission, I start sipping the orange juice my husband got me before the show. I purposely didn’t drink much before the show so I could make it through without having to stand in washroom lineups.

We talk about the show and observe people around us. So far, Casey is the highlight for us and most of the people there. But Stefano did really well too. And Pia went over well. But the one who probably got the most cheers every time she appeared was Haley. Every time her face was on the screen, there was cheering.

And then Lauren’s name is on the screen and people are rushing to get back to their seats. Oh, that reminds me, I could have done without the people walking up and down the aisles trying to sell water and other drinks during the show. But the guy who walked up and down the stairs nonchalantly with his hands at his sides and a box of bottled water on his head was kind of cool. Distracting, but cool.

So Lauren is on, and she’s wearing the short black dress that seems to have a white apron on it with what I think are red cowboy boots. Now I love cowboy boots—I’ve owned up to 5 pair at one time—but I’m sorry; this outfit does absolutely nothing for her. A more a-line skirt would help. And if she has to wear boots, flesh coloured would make her legs look so much longer and proportionate. But back to the performance.

Her singing sounds okay, but I can’t make out any of the words of her first song, except the chorus—“Flat on the Floor.” My husband doesn’t even get that much. Plus she sounds a bit raspy when she talks. I hope she’s able to get her voice some rest. But she does a terrific job of “Like My Mother Does,” and I don’t mind the video because it’s all about her and the pics are real, although my husband finds it distracting. “If I Die Young” is kind of meh. Again, hard to make out the words, and I just don’t think the song is a great choice. Plus having the three backup singers (yes, I know they are other idols) sitting on the stage directly behind her is kind of distracting. Are they really needed for this song? And why so close to her? I’d have put them up with the band. But Lauren gets good applause. And there were some people standing and little girls dancing.

And then Stephen Tyler is talking via video and being bleeped out, and the music starts for James, and there’s a whole lot of spontaneous standing and cheering. I’m standing too, not because I’m a rock fan, or even a real James fan, but because I know James wants people to stand and mostly because I want to show my respect for what he’s accomplished. Okay, I actually felt some moisture in my eyes.

I’ve had more than a passing acquaintance with people who have high functioning autism and with people who don’t fit in socially, and I’m thrilled to see what James has done on both a personal and public level. Plus you can’t deny his ability to entertain and to sing. In my opinion, James is the real deal, and I think he has the potential to go far. Now, having said that, my view on life is that there are a lot of things more important than fame and money, and I hope James and all the Idols make good choice. But hey, if he put out songs like “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” I’d be buying it. As it is, I’ll likely buy his CD for one of my sons. Not the two who prefer classical music—one of the others.

On to Jacob. And yes, the audience sits down. But it isn’t because they hate Jacob. It’s simply because they need a break after the emotion of James’s performance. Not sure why it’s so emotional—perhaps because of who he is as and his story as much as because of his singing and the performance, but he does throw everything into it and you feel drained at the end just watching.

As for Jacob, I don’t like the choice of “Never Too Much” as the first song he sings. I can’t really make out the words but it isn’t all his fault. I just don’t like the arrangement at all. He asks people to stand and dance with him, but it’s not the right song for that. Not catchy enough. But many people do. And many clap when he asks them to in the second song, “You’re All I Need to Get By,” which works much better. And people get into it more.

I find Jacob a bit confusing right now. Love, love, loved his “God Bless the Child” audition. And a few of his other songs, including the one he sings second here. But Jacob seemed to lose some momentum after the “Man in the Mirror” thing when he said something that I’m sure didn’t come across the way he intended. Honestly, I think any of the top 6 had the talent to win Idol this year, so their ranking doesn’t matter all that much. But Jacob has so much going for him vocally and performance-wise, that it puzzles me why he doesn’t get a better response.

I think it really is a weird placement for him to come after James. I’d have put him after Lauren with James next and then Haley. That would have worked better on an emotional level because Haley evokes a different kind of emotion. She actually seems to give emotion to the audience, whereas Jacob, like James, is kind of taking it from the audience, at least with the first song, and when Jacob comes on after James, the audience hasn’t much left to give. Okay, weird, I know, but I do have a psych and education background and I tend to overanalyze everything.

Anyway, Jacob does well and the crowd likes him, but my feeling is that he could have done better with maybe a different first song and coming before James. But by the end of his second song, he has the audience with him, and that’s not a small thing. I wish he and James had had a duet or something more…

Haley is next and the crowd is thrilled. Many stand spontaneously at some point during her two songs. There is cheering. And she does very well on both songs. The only thing is, with “House of the Rising Sun,” I just can’t believe she’s really singing about her. Could be partly the way she’s dressed. Could be because she seems to be too much enjoying what she can do with the music and her voice. But that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy her singing the song; I do. I just don’t feel the pain. “Moanin’” and “Benny and the Jets” she can sell. But both her songs go over well very well, and it’s clear the crowd loves her.

And now we’re into the Idol Winners countdown. And I’m surprised—by the volume of cheers. Especially for Carrie Underwood and Kris Allen. Whoa! Had no idea Toronto loved them that much.

And then it’s our current winner and the volume goes through the roof and nearly everyone is standing without anyone’s having suggested they stand. This is clearly Scotty country, folks! Which is a bit surprising given than not that many country acts play in Toronto. Most of them hang around western Canada. Hmm. What’s up with that?

Scotty is singing “Your Man” and the whole crowd is into it. A lady in front of me, who looks to be around 70, is literally bouncing around as though she’d just won the lottery.

Okay, last aside. What changes as you get older is how you look on the outside. And sometimes what you can do (or eat.) But if you loved Elvis as a kid, you probably still do when you’re 80. Because who you are hasn’t changed. So no looking down on people because they’re 70 or 80 and dancing to the music. Inside, that woman still feels pretty much like the same person she’s always been—she s just lived a few more years and might have a harder time moving around.

I won’t go into Scotty’s singing except to say he does really well with all his songs. The kid can sang. And entertain. And all ages of people are right there with him. “Your Man” is the perfect opener.

Scotty tells us James came back to wherever he was earlier in the show and told him this was the best crowd yet. And we’re delighted. Thank you. Thank you very much.

There’s a guy maybe 30 or so near us who’s waving his arms and singing along with “Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not.” I Love You This Big” just works. Maybe he makes it work; I don’t know. But it doesn’t come across as cheesy – it comes across as sincere.

The duet with Lauren is sung well by both of them, although at one point I thought she was off for just one note, but Scotty looks like he’d much rather be elsewhere. Got to work on the acting skills a bit more! And, I’m sorry, but Lauren’s dress looks more like a tutu. Reminds both me and my husband of the ghastly show “Toddlers and Tiaras.”

Scotty does great on “Gone” and the audience is loving it. However, I find Lauren, as a back-up singer, very distracting. First she makes out as if she’s slapping the pianist—what on earth is that all about? And then she’s just out of sync with the other three girls, and making more noticeable movements. I try to ignore her because I want to watch Scotty, but I do find her distracting. My husband notices too. Now I’m thinking she just didn’t differentiate between this song and the finale, when it’s okay for everyone to mess around. But I wish she’d just followed the script.

Then we have the finale, which the crowd is totally into, and most people stand. Now several of the guys are fake hitting each other. Huh? Not something I appreciate. There’s a long standing ovation at the end, during the individual intros and continuing. Um, we’re used to getting encores around here! Nope, it’s over.

On the way out, trying to talk to my husband re what he liked and didn’t like, I realize my hearing has gone elsewhere. It hadn’t been painful or anything during the show, and I mostly blame the people behind me who screamed so much, but it takes awhile until I can hear normally again.

Later I ask my husband who he liked best and whose music he’d buy or whose show he’d go to. Without missing a beat, he picks Scotty and Casey. And probably Haley. He’d really like her and Casey to tour together. And he can’t figure out why Haley didn’t come second because Lauren was actually his least favourite.

My favourites before I came were Scotty, Casey, Jacob, and Haley, and James, and Naima. But there was no one I disliked and there is no one I dislike when I leave. I hope they all have successful lives. And whether they make records, tour, act, or use their talent in other ways, I just hope they’re all able to make good use of their talent.

And that’s it from Toronto.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2011 in Random

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment